Menu

Explore

Explore

There are nearly 1,000 years of history at this great castle, situated in magnificent grounds overlooking the River Arun in West Sussex and built at the end of the 11th century by Roger de Montgomery on land granted to him by William the Conqueror.

Image left, text right

The Keep

After climbing the 131 steps up to the Keep, the views of the River Arun, the sea, the town and the Downs are worth the effort. Photographs cannot do it justice. Access closes at 4:30 pm, or sooner if dusk falls early.

Image right, text left

Fitzalan Chapel

Founded in 1380 by the 4th Earl of Arundel, the chapel has had a varied history, including damage during the Civil War in 1643 -4. After a period of neglect it was restored during the 19th century. The chapel sits within the grounds and is included in your admission ticket.

Two images Two images

The glorious private chapel within the castle. Built in the 1890s of Purbeck marble, chalk and Painswick stone. Visitors enjoy a view from the gallery of the beautiful architecture and artworks. The Barons' Hall is a magnificent room, which is a tribute to the signing of the Magna Carta.

Garden aerial

From the architectural splendour of the Earl's Garden to the bountiful kitchen garden and the wonderful Stumpery, the gardens are a delight for all visitors. Created over the last 10 years, they are a haven for wildlife.

Gardens
Cat in hat